OFFICERS 2014-2016

NEAL KELLEY PRESIDENT Orange County

DEAN LOGAN VICE PRESIDENT Los Angeles County

SUSAN M.RANOCHAK TREASURER Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND SECRETARY Santa Barbara County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

DONNA M. JOHNSTON Sutter County

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

KAREN RHEA Kern County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN

Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING ALLEN Shasta County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County

JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

KAREN RHEA Kern County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

NEAL KELLEY, PRESIDENT

Orange County Registrar of Voters 1300-C South Grand Ave., Santa Ana, CA 92705 P.O. Box 11298, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1298 714-567-7600 * Fax 714-567-7627

> E-Mail: neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

April 1, 2016

The Honorable Lorena Gonzalez State Capitol, Room 6012 Sacramento, CA 95814

AB 1921 (Gonzales) –SUPPORT IF AMENDED

Dear Assembly Member Gonzalez:

The California Association of Clerks and Elections Officials is pleased to advise you of our support for AB 1921 if amended. The bill permits persons other than the voter or an immediate family member with written authorization to return a mail ballot to a polling place or drop off location. The relaxation of this unenforceable requirement will eliminate unreasonable burdens on voters and will permit more ballots to be deemed eligible for counting.

The current statute poses an unreasonable and unnecessary requirement to have written authorization for a narrow list of qualified persons to deliver a ballot to a polling place and we support this change. There is no similar requirement if require for the same person to deposit the same ballot in the mail and this requirement offers no protection against fraud as the eligibility of the ballot is determined by the voter's signature and not the means of delivery.

However we find the additional language in 3017(e) to be problematic. We appreciate meeting with your office to discuss our concerns and understand you are willing to make amendments. We propose that the bill be amended to only contain the changes to 3017(a). With this change, the Association will offer wholehearted support to the bill.

Should you have questions regarding our position, please contact me at the Contra Costa County Election Division at scott.konopasek@vote.cccounty.us or (925) 335-7808.

Respectfully,

Scott O. Konopasek
Corresponding Secretary

California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

Cc: Assembly Member Weber, Chair, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting Ethan Jones, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting Daryl Thomas, Republican Caucus Consultant Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.
Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee
Tricia Webber, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee

Officium Populi - Office of the People